Churchville Schoolhouse

Visit the Historic Churchville Schoolhouse

Step back in time with the schoolmarm during an authentic living history experience at the Churchville Schoolhouse! This historic structure (built circa 1846) is one of the few remaining one-room schoolhouses in Illinois on its original site and has undergone extensive restoration to make it ready for school groups and community programs. Owned by the city of Elmhurst and managed by the Elmhurst History Museum, this National Register of Historic Places property (built circa 1846) is now the setting for field trips for school, scout, and adult groups. Immersive history experiences featuring a 1910 schoolmarm give visitors the opportunity to experience how farm children from the DuPage area learned their
daily lessons. To find out more about this engaging and interactive learning opportunity:

Churchville Schoolhouse 496
Contact Us
School Groups: Submit an online form here.
Scout or Adult G
roups: Please contact the Elmhurst History Museum Educator, at 630-833-7090 or via e-mail at

The Churchville Schoolhouse is located just north of Grand Avenue (
the northern boundary of Elmhurst) at 3N784 Church Road in Bensenville. Click here for Google Maps directions.

Parking and Accessibility
On-site parking for buses and cars is available. The Schoolhouse is accessible to visitors with disabilities via a ramp at the rear of the building.

For school groups, the cost for a 2.5 hour (half-day) program is $5 per student.
The program is free to schools from Elmhurst and Bensenville.

Download the Brochure
Download the Churchville Schoolhouse Living History Program brochure.

History of the Churchville Schoolhouse

Learn more about this historic architectural and cultural treasure.

Churchville Schoolhouse 2015 Fall Open House

Churchville Schoolhouse Open House,Sept2015 001 (89).jpg
Our 2015 Churchville Schoolhouse Fall Open House on September 26th was fantastic and we are so thankful to everyone who came out to explore our DuPage County treasure. We had a beautiful day and a crowd of more than 275 people enjoyed musical performances by the talented Conrad Fischer Elementary School Singers, led by music teacher Peter Buys.

Everyone had fun encountering the schoolmarm inside the one-room schoolhouse and learning how children were taught their lessons in the early 1900s. A few "punishments" were doled out, McGuffy Readers were read, and visitors practiced their cursive writing in copybooks.

Outside, participants played old-fashioned games, made colorful pencil pouches, explored the Elmhurst Fire Department's vintage fire truck, and lots more! The Churchville Cemetery Association provided a history of the adjacent cemetery.

Thanks to the Churchville Cemetery Association and the Elmhurst Heritage Foundation for supporting this fun event. Our gratitude also to Principal Jane Bailey of Conrad Fischer School, the Bensenville Fire Department, and the City of Elmhurst building maintenance staff.