|Visit the Historic Churchville Schoolhouse
The Churchville Schoolhouse is a National Register of Historic Places property built circa 1850 and is owned by the City of Elmhurst and managed by the Elmhurst Historical Museum. This historic structure, which features one of the few remaining one-room schoolhouses in the state of Illinois on its original site, has undergone a major restoration and is now available for school groups and community programs. Field trips for school and scout groups can now be booked through the Elmhurst Historical Museum for an interactive living history experience with a trained school marm taking students back in time to 1910. Find out more about this engaging learning opportunity:
Click here to fill out and submit an online contact form for your school group. Adult and scout groups, please call the museum at 630-833-1457 to make arrangements.
Download the Brochure
Click here to download the new Churchville Schoolhouse Living History Program brochure.
Contact the Churchville Schoolhouse program coordinator at 630-833-1457 or via e-mail at .
The Churchville Schoolhouse is located just north of Grand Avenue (the northern boundary of Elmhurst) at 3N784 Church Road in Bensenville. Click here for Google Maps directions.
$5 per student (full or half-day).
The program is free to schools from Elmhurst and Bensenville.
Parking and Accessibility
On-site parking for buses is available. The Schoolhouse is accessible to visitors with disabilities via a ramp at the rear of the building.
History of the Churchville Schoolhouse
Find out more about this historic architectural and cultural treasure that dates to the Civil War era.
Photos of the Churchville Schoolhouse Restoration Project 2005-2010